Restrictions for Someone with a Class D License
The Georgia Department of Public Safety wants motorists to know the license restrictions for someone with a Class D license. In Georgia, a 15-year-old with a valid Class CP “learners” license becomes eligible to get a Class D license after meeting all applicable requirements. Although the driver may operate a vehicle on the roadways of Georgia without a licensed passenger as required by a Class CP license, there are still very specific requirements that must be followed. Any driver with a Class D license may not operate a vehicle on Georgia roadways between the hours of midnight and 5am. For the first six months after obtaining a Class D license, the driver may not operate a vehicle with any passengers, other than immediate family members. For the second six months, drivers may not operate a vehicle with more than one other passenger in the vehicle who is under the age of 21 years old or not immediate family members. After one year, the driver may not operate a vehicle with more than three other passengers in the vehicle who are under the age of 21 years old or not immediate family members. The law is very specific on what is classified as an “immediate family” member as it must be someone who resides at the license holder’s residence, parents, stepparents, grandparents, siblings, and stepsiblings. Also, remember if you are eligible to move to a Class C license but are still operating a vehicle with a Class D license, you are still subject to the Class D requirements, regardless of your age.