Georgia runoff election results

Rabun County turned out in force to cast their votes in the Georgia runoff election.

At least 28 percent of the registered voter population, or 3324 out of 11513 people according to Rabun County Elections Supervisor Tammy Whitmire.

Although mail-in ballots that have been postmarked by Dec. 4th are still being counted until the close of the week, Republican Brad Raffensperger is projected to be the winner in the runoff election for Georgia’s Secretary of State. He defeated Democrat John Barrow.

In a second statewide race Republican and incumbent Chuck Eaton beat out Lindy Miller for the Public Commissioner’s office.

Whitmire said she is happy to see Rabun County’s participation in this runoff election, adding that there was a good voter turnout.