Freeze Watch issued for Rabun County

The National Weather Service has issued a freeze watch from late Friday, March 17, through Saturday morning, March 18, for Northeast Georgia, including Rabun and Habersham counties and the cities of Clayton, Pine Mountain, Mountain City, Cornelia, Demorest, Clarkesville, and Hollywood. Frost and freeze concerns may return each night Saturday night through Monday night.  Sub-freezing temperatures as low as 30 degrees are possible.  Frost and freeze conditions could kill crops, other sensitive vegetation and possibly damage unprotected outdoor plumbing.  Take steps now to protect tender plants from the cold. To prevent freezing and possible bursting of outdoor water pipes they should be wrapped, drained, or allowed to drip slowly. Those that have in-ground sprinkler systems should drain them and cover above-ground pipes to protect them from freezing.