Clayton Files Suit Against County, Every Other City

The city of Clayton files a complaint opposing the Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax.

The suit filed in Rabun County Superior Court on Wednesday alleges that the resolution calling for the SPLOST vote and the intergovernmental agreement between the county and every city but Clayton should both be declared invalid on the basis of alleged violations of Georgia code.

Those alleged violations include failing to identify specific projects instead of general categories, which does not allow the county or cities the ability to comply with reporting and auditing requirements, and depriving voters of being able to make an informed decision.

The complaint for injunction and declaratory judgment lists Clayton as well as six citizens as the plaintiffs, with Rabun County and all of the municipalities included in the SPLOST’s intergovernmental agreement listed as the defendants.

Those municipalities are Dillard, Mountain City, Tallulah Falls, Tiger, and Sky Valley.